Scale Objects with a Reference

Let’s say that you download an AutoCAD block like the table as seen below. When you open the block, you notice that it is not scaled correctly. Let’s also say that you want to scale it to a certain length.

In the example below, I have a block of a table. I opened it in the block editor and now I am going to Scale the block so that its length is 6 feet long. I don’t actually need to know the current length of the block. I just need to make a line that is the length that I want the table to be. I made this line at an angle to show you that the reference does not need to be in line with the table.

Here’s the steps:

(Note: this tip works in all workspaces like modelspace and paperspace. I used the block editor in this example instead of exploding the block.)

  • SCALE <enter> (or SC <enter>) to start the SCALE command.
  • Select the objects that you want to scale
  • <enter> when finished selecting
  • Specify a base point
  • R <enter> to use the “Reference” option
  • Pick 2 points on the object that is going to be scaled that you want to be scaled to the desired length.
  • P <enter> to use the “Points” option
  • Pick 2 points that establish the final length. In the example picture, I picked the diagonal line that is six feet long.

After the second point is picked, the table is scaled to the desired length. I then deleted the reference line.

The first 2 points that you pick establish the “before” length (reference) and the last 2 points that you pick scale the first 2 points picked.

About AutoCAD Tips

As weird as it sounds, AutoCAD is a hobby for me. But I am fortunate enough to have a career doing my hobby. I work for a large engineering firm supporting CAD users in various disciplines. My dream job would be to work for a company like Autodesk or Disney's Imagineering where inspiring others and using innovative approaches and software are adding value to projects and bringing design in all areas up to a new level. This blog serves as a repository or knowledge base for myself so that I can reference tips & tricks that I have learned and also refer others to it as well. I hope that this blog helps you learn at least one tip to make your drafting experience better.
This entry was posted in BASICS, Modifying, TIPS. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Scale Objects with a Reference

  1. thx a lot..it really helped! :)

  2. Jordaan Clarke says:

    Thank you for this tutorial, really clearly explained and the diagram at the bottom is great. Saved me hours of fumbling around.

  3. Jhulia of Brazil says:

    very good !! helped a lot and it’s clear!! thanks !!

  4. Joshua says:

    Awesssssssommmmme!

  5. Thank you thank you thank you!!!! :D **

  6. vijay says:

    really thanks it is more help to me…

  7. Mohammed sarfuddin says:

    how to set, paper unit should shows 1″ but messuring unit should shows 1′ in a drawing.

  8. Finally, my problem is solved :)

  9. anjan barai says:

    Thanks.

  10. Folayemi says:

    thanks, helped a lot!

  11. NeloNath says:

    Thanks! Needed this! :D

  12. shamsu says:

    Thanks Bro…..

  13. Pingback: Importing PDF into AutoCAD DWG the hacky way | Simple solutions

  14. Many many thanks to all who do this type of great job.

  15. oday says:

    i have a big size blocks and it’s make my computer very slow,,how i can make resize for it? ,for example i have block with 5 Mpa how i can make it more small?

  16. Abeer says:

    Thaaaaaaank Yooou <3

Leave a Reply

